Prologue

Screenshot-40‘Dearest sister,

I must be brief, for I fear that Mycroft will stroll into my room at any moment and peer over my shoulder at my hasty scrawl.’

Screenshot-47‘I pray that you are doing well, for I am not in any place of which I can come to your immediate side if you fall ill. 

I confess, I do not understand this man that has bestowed me with his last name. In truth… he frightens me.’

Screenshot-20‘I am also very much afraid that you will not believe my far-fetched tale and write me off as mad. But you must believe me, dearest sister!

Have lies ever graced these lips before?’

Screenshot-71‘Ever since that moment in the rose garden a month ago, this Mycroft Black has pranced behind me as if I am knitted to him with thread.’

Screenshot-49‘He is my husband under the Lord’s eyes, yes… but I cannot bear to think of a life where I am solely his wedded wife! There is another man. There has always been another man…

And I could as soon forget him as my own life!’

Screenshot-48‘Mycroft’s secretive mercantilism takes him to far off lands, leaving me to the dust of the manor. I am not one to settle like grime on a wardrobe!’

Screenshot-36‘I-I must confide in you, Drucilla, for your face is the only light in all this darkness.

This Lord Mycroft that father had me marry… he is not a man. He is something dark and horrible to live with.’

ScreenshotOne day, I could not bear to hold my silence any longer. I told Mycroft all of it.

Oh, I was a fool to do so, Drucilla! A terrible, vain little fool!’

Screenshot-11‘He was not mad with pain and jealously, and he did not play the despairing lover. He only said, with that cold, deducing stare:

‘Not he, not the world, not even you, can come between us.’

Screenshot-9‘And ever since that moment (and please do believe me for I am not creating farces simply to frighten you!) —

I cannot leave his side.’

Screenshot-45‘Should I try, it results in the worst pain imaginable! Inexplicably worse than the time I toppled down the hill beside our manor and broke my arm!

The moment I try to escape him, I am gripped by this ghostly hand and, suddenly, my breath is no longer mine!’

Screenshot-85‘My hands become cold and numb and my sweat turns to beads of ice on my brow. There is nothing but relentless, tormenting pain and hunger, cruelly making me its slave.

I cannot move, for I turn to stone under the pain! And I fall to the floor like a cripple without a cane.’

Screenshot-73And do you know what he does, youngest sister?

His thin lips turn slimy and he smirks.

Screenshot-91Because he knows that the only thing that quails the pain and my quick pulse, is his touch.

Without it, I’m like a fish separated from her mother, the sea.

Screenshot-52‘I want to leave this house and never come back to it. I never want to see his face again or listen to his oily voice as long as I live!

I want to cry, but these tears only blight and curse and damn me.’

Screenshot-68‘I must part with you now, sister. I can hear him marching proudly up the steps, for he knows I am his porcelain doll, that I have no choice but to always be here waiting for him to take me off the shelf.’

Screenshot-61‘I am afraid, Drucilla.

I fear the next time we meet, I shall have glass eyes.’

8 comments

  1. I’m very intrigued by this already. And as always, incredibly well written. Some sentences are just beautiful, and haunting, especially the porcelain doll comment at the end.

    I can’t wait to see whereyou go with this

  2. Wow, such a brilliant start! I’m hooked 😀 I love her freckled skintone btw. And erggh he’s a nasty piece of work, I’m kinda hoping someone more scary than him with come and rescue her!

    Will keep reading…

Leave a comment