Chapter 7

Person of Pride and Character

Screenshot-334“What the hell are you doing here?!”

“I came to walk you home.” Hiro confirmed simply from the bench. “Is there something wrong with that?”

“Uh, yeah! There is, actually!”

Screenshot-123Rory felt her face grow warmer as the throng of girls behind her openly pointed and giggled. Hiro, Rory had begrudgingly learned, possessed the unique (and highly irritating) ability to pop up ay any given time or place and frighten the living crap out of her.

3cefb2d4-2162-4383-b3ca-96df276c5dfd_zps894219ccFriday night, he had appeared a her bedroom window again. Monday morning, he had accompanied her on her walk to school. Thursday afternoon, Rory was forced to fabricate an extravagant story to explain his sudden appearance to Natti at the grocery store.

It was almost as if he was warning her he was always there.

Screenshot-352_zpsb8d10a39Typically, Hiro matched her stride whenever she was alone, as if his presence was purely natural. He would ask her pleasant, detached questions such as:

“How was your day?” “Where are you going?”  “Do you have a test tomorrow?”

Screenshot-325_zps57b147feRory’s rebellious demeanour was snuffed out at these times. She would open and shut her mouth until the words hobbled out. She had never been so uncomfortable with her words. She was constantly frightened that she would suddenly say the wrong thing and she’d be submerged into that horrible, mind-nmbing pain again.

Screenshot-342Today, however, all thoughts of pain were eradicated as she stared incredulously at the pale figure leaning nonchalantly against the school fence.

“Look, you can’t just… you can’t just appear in front of everybody I know!”

Screenshot-256“Hey, Rory!”

The voice sounded from behind. Immediately, Rory’s heart rate quickened. Of course, she would recognise that voice anywhere. Noah Landgraab.

Screenshot-315Noah was the pampered son of Bridgeport diplomat Malcolm Landgraab and his artist wife Bambi. While undoubtedly handsome, what attracted Rory to Noah out of all the other boys in her school was his kindness.  He always asked her about her day and while he did so his lips would compose a soft, bright smile that affirmed he actually cared to know; that it wasn’t just another reason to flaunt his perfect white teeth.

Screenshot-273“Oh, I… uh… hey, Noah.” Rory stammered, feeling her entire face kindle with heat as she returned his smile with a goofy grin.

“So, how do you think you did on that math quiz?” He asked.

Screenshot-284Rory’s mouth muscles twitched with the effort to remain locked in place. Well, she had answered most of the questions with wicked-looking smiley faces.

“Pretty good,” she lied. “It wasn’t that hard. How ’bout you?”

Screenshot-281“Okay I guess, but I don’t think I got number 37 right…” He trailed off as his eyes landed on Hiro. “Oh! I’m so rude! I barely even noticed your friend, Rory.”

“H-he’s not a friend!” Rory cried.

Screenshot-285“I mean… um, he’s not really— um—“

She stole a glance back at the smirk slowly blooming on Hiro’s face. Bastard.

“He’s… Hiro.”

Screenshot-302Noah’s eyes seemed to brighten momentarily. “It’s nice to meet you, Hiro.”

“Likewise.

This was far too strange, seeing Hiro, with this tangible reality to him, in the sunlight with Noah beside him. It made Rory’s chest constrict for reasons she couldn’t even begin to explain.

Screenshot-268Noah’s lips conducted an iluminating smile once more.

Rory felt her heart melt all the way to her knees…

Screenshot-292… but that smile…

….it wasn’t directed her way.

Screenshot-310A sudden torrent of jealously propelled Rory to seize Hiro’s wrist, ignoring the tepid flow that rolled through her upon contact with his skin. She dragged the irritating attention-stealer away, sparing Noah a rather rushed explanation over her shoulder.

“Sorry! We’re late to—uh, to basketball practice! Later!”

Screenshot-313Noah watched the pair hobble away, bickering loudly. His pale, blue eyes suddenly dampened into a darker, emptier hue.

“But you don’t play basketball…”

Screenshot-355When they were at least a safe mile away, Rory finally released her white-knuckled grip on Hiro’s wrist. He rgarded the red blotch blankly, rubbing it with his long, pale fingers.

Screenshot-385“Just what the hell were you doing at my school, Hiro?! There’s absolutely no reason for you to even be there!”

Screenshot-288“You’re jealous.” Hiro deduced. Rory turned to see him smirking knowingly. “You like Noah.”

“N-no! He’s just nice and kind… and… and an all-around good person.”

Screenshot-351She hurriedly walked into an alley between two apartment buildings. Many of the kids that went to her school lived close by and the last thing she needed them to see was her interacting with Hiro. Her communications with the boy did not exactly go ‘well’.

“If you like him so much,” Hiro continued,”Why did you lie to him?”

Screenshot-425Eyes widening slightly, Rory found herself feeling abruptly sick.

… what?

“You completely failed that math test. I watched you— you hardly finished any of it.”

Screenshot-379Rory squirmed uncomfortably. The fact that Hiro had just casually admitted to ogling her for the past several hours made her feel violated and used; as if her skin were transparent and anyone could see anything they pleased.

“I wish you’d quit that.”

Screenshot-374“It’s not as if I want to, in fact, usually I don’t.”

Rory blinked. “What else do you do while I’m at school?”

But really she was yearning to discover what else she could do.

Screenshot-410“On a typical day?

I go to the library and conduct research.”

Screenshot-392What?!”

Rory’s eyes popped open as she stared incredulously at her companion.

“But when I went far from you I—“

Screenshot-438“It’s all about intentions. You wanted to run from me, something forbidden by the curse.”

Hiro peered at her; one dark eye mustered a vast intensity that drew enough stifling silence for two.

“So it took action: it stopped you.”

Screenshot-423It stopped you…

The words rang coldly through Rory’s brain. Involuntary shivers racked her body as she recalled the ghost of the pain from that night.

Screenshot-442“However, I go the library and research, knowing full well that I will return to you. In this instance, the curse slackens its proximity.”

Rory frowned. “This all sounds like absolute bullshit, you know that?”

“Yes,” Hiro sighed, “I know.”

Screenshot-122A crowd of students from her high school passed the mouth of the alley, giggling and chatting about some hot guy who had been stood by the school’s gates. Rory watched them longingly, a pang of loneliness crossing her chest.

Screenshot-401She felt so isolated, with only this boy for company. Asa still hadn’t come back to school since he had betrayed her to Natti. Rory needed her lazy friend now more than ever.

screenshot-20_zps9287d21cNormally, Asa would nag her endlessly until she at least attempted her homework; under his influence, Rory had always teetered over the low B, high C grade threshold, but without Asa her grades had taken a rather dramatic plummet.

Screenshot-390Crap,”

Rory suddenly remembered.

“I have a science test tomorrow.”

Screenshot-405“You should study for it.” Hiro suggested. “I don’t think your grade point average can take another failing grade.”

“Shut up!”

Hiro smirked slightly. “Well? What are you covering?”

Screenshot-408“I have no idea. Cellular perspiration or something like that.”

Rory murmured.

“I can’t even get the goddamn name right. Shit. I’m so going to fail.”

Screenshot-407“Not necessarily. I can help you study.”

A quiet moment passed and Hiro’s smile twitched; his mouth appearing as if it desperately yearned to be back in its standard frown again.

“… this is where you grab my hand and we skip happily off into the sunset.”

Screenshot-427Rory’s eyes narrowed.

“Why are you being … nice?”

Screenshot-361Hiro’s mouth slipped back into its comfortable, stern line again.

“What are you talking about? I’m always nice.”

Screenshot-349Rory’s distrust deepened.

“No, you’re not. You’re a dick. Why are you suddenly acting nice?”

Screenshot-389Hiro sighed, turning away from her.

“To be completely honest, my research has sort of reached a dead end. I think that we might be locked like this forever.”

Screenshot-393Rory gaped, horrified. “You mean—“

“Now, would you like to know the finer points of glycolysis rare you just going to sit by idely and watch your grades drop?”

Screenshot-411Hiro began to stroll away purposefully. Rory began to amble behind after him somewhat more inelegantly.

“Huh? What’s glycolysis?”

Hiro sighed raggedly. “You’re hopeless.”

Screenshot-13— and after four hours of dutiful studying, Rory was beginning to believe it.

“So… ATP was converted to oxygen in the transport train?”

Screenshot-23“No,” Hiro’s voice portrayed his exasperation and weariness. “NADH and FADH2 are converted to ATP when—“

“Hold up! Is this still on the transport train?”

Screenshot-103Black eyes flashed with irritation. “On the electron transport chain.”

“And this is the Crab’s cycle, right?”

Kreb’s.” Hiro corrected coldly.

Screenshot-32It was during Hiro’s fifth simplified speech on ATP and the electron transport chain that Natti entered the room.

“Hello, Rory. I’ve been home for a while, but I didn’t want to disturb you, but I thought you could use a break. “

Screenshot-70Rory’s stomach dropped when she saw Natti glance over at Hiro’s emotioness face.

“Especially you, um— you’re the boy from the grocery store, right?”

Screenshot-29This was certainly not a scenario Rory was happy about. The whole situation seemed off-centre… wrong, somehow. Usually it was Asa beside her, Hiro’s presence felt so… different. It was so strange that her mouth could not even rally up a proper lie to explain the sudden appearance of his boy in her life.

Screenshot-35It simply hung there, like a open man-hole until Hiro stood to introduce himself, face  smooth and flawless.

“I’m Hiro Yui, ma’am. I go to school with Rory.”

Screenshot-65“Well, I want to thank you for taking the time to help Rory study, Hiro. I know how stubborn and hard-headed Rory is sometimes, but I’ve found she’s a perfectly capable student. She’s actually quite good at science, she just gets bullied into thinking she isn’t.”

Screenshot-40Natti frowned, her focus shifting to Rory again. “He hasn’t said anything mean to you lately, has he?”

Rory sighed.  “No, Natti.”

Screenshot-4At that moment, all Rory wanted to do was bury her face into her hands, to escape the situation entirely. She didn’t really know what he was so embarrassed about; she wasn’t ashamed of Natti -or even Hiro, but there was something about their meeting that felt as if it shouldn’t occur.

Screenshot-58Regardless, they seemed to get along fairly well, and soon enough, Natti was enlightening Hiro on all the dastardly science teachers that had bullied her into failing grades in the past.

Screenshot-67“—then there was this one jerk last year who just wouldn’t leaved Rory alone! Whenever he marked a test, he would tack the highest and lowest grades to the wall. And even if she didn’t earn he lowest grade, Rory’d still end up on it!”

Screenshot-30Natti’s cheeks had collected an angry flush. “What did he call it again, Rory?”

“The wall of fame and shame…” she uttered quietly.

Screenshot-22“What an idiotic name.” Hiro intoned.

Rory noticed he seemed slightly less rigid than he had before. Natti had that effect on people; she was an incredible host who could make a sultan feel at home in a pigsty.

Screenshot-59“Isn’t it? Well, I went to the principle and, of course, got written off! They say she is a trouble maker who needs to be reprimanded like this. They say it will make her a better person later in life— ‘a person of pride and character’.”

Screenshot-69“Well, let me tell you, Rory already has more character than the entire faculty and student body put together!” Her eyes gleamed proudly as they landed on Rory again. “And as for pride? It’s never done anybody any good!”

Screenshot-72“… but that man is nothing compared to this year’s biology teacher! He is a truly horrible, horrible man.”

Hiro was a picture of polite interest. “Oh? How so?”

Screenshot-45“Well, other than failing Rory for no good reason, he openly humiliates her in class, calling her an idiot—! Oh, what did he say again, after you told him how hard you worked, Rory?”

Screenshot-77Rory adopted an unnaturally slick, wispy voice and spread her lips in an attempt to emulate an insulting leer.

“Tell me, how does it feel to know that hard work and sacrifice does not have to be repaid in the end? That everything you believed was false? Does it hurt? Does it burn?”

Screenshot-79Her face and voice resumed its normality, and she slammed her fist onto the table.

“Gah! He’s such a dick!”

Screenshot-81Natti gasped, chastised. “Rory!”

“Oh come on, you know it’s true!”

“Yes,” Her guardian agreed, “But that is not a nice word. Use jerk, or meanie—“

Screenshot-57“Meanie would be appropriate if I was eight like your students, but seeing as I’m almost 17, ‘dick’ is pretty much conducive to my age.”

Screenshot-62Natti sighed.

“Rory, what am I going to do with you? Well, I’ll leave you two to your studying. It was nice meeting you, Hiro.”

“Likewise.”

Screenshot-86Rory returned to the table, glad for the jovial intermission. She felt looser and more relaxed than she had several moments ago.

Screenshot-249Hiro, however, looked tenser than she had ever seen him. His back was stiff and his shoulders were clenched; his eyes narrow.

“Rory, tell me more about this particular teacher.”

Screenshot-11Rory blinked.

“Well, he’s tall,” she began absently. “He’s young for a teacher, I guess. Asian… you know, like you: black hair, dark eyes. Some girls think he’s hot, but that’s only because they’ve never had him as a teacher. He’s a total ass—“

Screenshot-9“His name.”

Hiro growled demandingly.

“Tell me his name.”

Screenshot-247Rory was momentarily speechless, struck by a sudden lack of confidence in her own words.

“M-Mister Oda.”

Screenshot-26Hiro’s eyes widened. Rory was utterly surprised to see a crack in his smug facade, to see the slight… fear that was sputtering through.

“I don’t really remember his first name, but it was on the sheet we got for—“

Screenshot-97“I have to go.”

Hiro declared at once, climbing to his feet and unlatching the window.

Screenshot-95“Wha—? But why?”

Rory’s stomach twisted uneasily. She looked up at him expectantly, feeling somehow… hurt by his abrupt exit.

Wait!”

Screenshot-91Hiro hastily glanced back over his shoulder.

“Don’t worry. I’ll be back. I promise.”

Screenshot-237And with that, he leapt from the window, climbed gracefully down the ladder and melted into the dark streets with their flickering, orange lights, leaving Rory utterly alone once more.

Did she even want him to come back?

Screenshot-3Hell no.

Rory thought forcefully, returning to her textbook once more, where diagrams and indiscernible words waited to mock her. 

Asshole.

A/N: I’m ALIIIIIVVVVVEEEEE!

Hey! So, it’s been a while since I’ve done any much posting, but I’ve finally finished one! Anyhu, Suitor chapter up coming up next 😀 

14 comments

  1. Welcome back, Becki! I missed you. Rory may not have many boys around her, but they’re certainly good eye candy. You know I ♥ Hiro, and that Noah’s a cutie, too. If I had to choose, though, I’d still pick Hiro.

    You cracked me up with the studying dialogue, and I must admit, science was never my forte. Great facial expressions as usual. Love the pic of Hiro looking over his shoulder.

    I’m anxious to know who the teacher is that makes Hiro so nervous. He can’t be good news. I wonder if he’s related to the curse. Hmm…

    1. Long time no speak! I’m glad you liked it. I was so fun to do some creative writing. The teacher, btw, has already appeared in chapters 1 and 3 – but yeah, something is definitely up with him!

      You might be glad to know I’ve just finished writing the next TWO Suitor chapters. All I need are those screenshots! I refuse to purchase Sims 4 until I’ve finished Suitor so I don’t get distracted again 😛

      1. OF COURSE, I’m glad to know I can read TWO Suitor chapters soon! (Sorry for shouting. It goes without saying that I’m excited for that, n’est ce pas?)

        While you were away, Charles had a little fling with Jill. A man’s gotta do what a man’s gotta do. He was quite charming, to say the least. 😉

  2. Already commented on The Suitor!
    I don’t know why, but I just LOVE Hiro. Ugh. I don’t know what he’s going to do, but I feel like it’ll be a little bit too exciting for me. Amazing chapter, as always!

    1. Thanks ^^ Love the feedback!

      After reading this comment, I feel like it might be a bit anti-climatic for you! Hopefully not! :3

  3. I KNEW IT! I knew there was something off about that teacher! He was far too…cruel. I mean, I’ve known teachers who may have occasionally said something off-color, but Mr. Oda just went too far and seemed really sadistic honestly. He LOVED putting Rory down, getting some sick kick out of seeing her trampled. Your typical human being would not do that o_o

    Of course, this makes me intensely interested as to what IS up with that man. And oh man, don’t think I’ve forgotten about Asa either!

    The more I read, the more questions I have, but now that I’ve caught up, I’m afraid I’ll have to wait to have them answered o_o

    These chapters will be worth the wait though 😀

    Incredible story here, seriously!!! I take my hat off to you!

    1. Thanks for reading 😀 (I know this is the latest reply ever, but… better late than never, right?)

      I’m surprised how observant you are! I thought I was being quite subtle with Asa and Mr. Oda… but you’ve suspected something was up all along! Well, I hope the next chapter will be satisfying enough for you *feels the pressure*

  4. UGH I can’t deal. Your stories are the only sim stories that I actually like! I just love the way that you write, and I love it how you always make your characters flawed, not just completely perfect.

    Also, I love the characters that you make and their personalities XD the guys (viscount and hino) are so attractive in a weird way. I love their possessiveness. Does that make me sound like a crazy fan girl? I hope not ._.

    Never stop writing these or I’ll probably die (that was not a threat ^_^) because they’re just really good; way better than any of the sims stories I’ve read, even though the other stories have more followers for some messed up reason. Your fantabulous though. 😀

    – Sylvie
    (Sorry for my twelvie username, I made an account when I was like, 7)

    1. You think that’s a bad username?! My email = x_x

      Thanks so much – I’m incredibly flattered ^^ I’m glad you like them so much! I agree, I love flawed characters, that way they can be explored and grow so much more! (Also, I’m sure those stories deserve the views, I only wish I had more time to read some! ;P) Hope you like the new chapter x

  5. I’ve only discovered your stories recently and I’m already too deep into em! You’re freaking amazing!
    Oops, my language.
    Hahah, you’re one of those very Sims few writers with an actual unique storyline and your characters, their personalities and your pictures are truly breathtaking.
    AAAAAH!
    I just died.

    Keep writing! ><

    1. So much praise! Not sure I deserve it, but I’m really glad you enjoy my little projects :3

      I’m trying >< Slowly… very slowly getting there!

      Thanks for reading x

Leave a comment